09 December 2016: 25 Years of the Maastricht Treaty

On 09 December 2016, the Province of Limburg and the municipality of Maastricht will organise a conference to celebrate the 25th Anniversary of the Maastricht Treaty. Among others, the city of Maastricht will welcome the President of the European Parliament Martin Schulz, Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker and the former Commission President Herman van Rompuy as key note speakers.

The event will take place from 09:00 hrs to 18.30 hrs at the MECC Maastricht. CERiM membershave provided three policy briefs to stimulate discussion in the panel debates. On the topic of citizenship in the European Union, Prof. Christine Neuhold and CERiM Co-Director Prof. Thomas Christiansen will contribute with a policy brief entitled ‘Bridging the gap between citizens and the European Union? The Role of National Parliaments after the Lisbon Treaty’. 

CERiM Member Prof. Maarten Vink and Prof. Gerard-René de Groot from the Faculty of Law will shed light on Achievements and Challenges of European Union Citizenship Law by contributing with a piece on Union Citizenship in the Maastricht Treaty. The third contribution entitled ‘Democracy and Accountability in the European Union: Great Leaps forward since the Maastricht Treaty?’, will be presented by  Dr. Vigjilenca Abazi, Prof. Monica Claes and CERiM Co-Director Prof. Ellen Vos.

Moreover, Prof. Bruno De Witte will sit on the panel chaired by European Parliament President Martin Schulz together with the former EU Commissioner for ICT and Telecommunication, Neelie Kroes. More information and the full schedule can be accessed via this link.

back to overview